Friends Site "Who Remembers Me" Warned About Spam Mails

Who Remembers Me website

A website that tries to help you find old friends and colleagues has been warned over sending unsolicited mail by the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA).

The website Who Remembers Me claims to be able to help you find old friends through a variety of different searches. It was founded by Rob Billington in 2003.

Complaint

The complainant received an email from the company that purported to be processed by its "Tell a Friend" service. The complainant did not believe that his email address had been entered into the website as the email claimed, and that the email was therefore unsolicited.

Who Remembers Me explained to the ASA that practical and legal restraints prevented them from revealing any details to substantiate the claim. This did little to impress the ASA who were concerned that the website was potentially open to abuse by someone wishing to send unsolicited mail.

In their adjudication the ASA commented:

"We told the advertiser that if he operated a facility which, by allowing anonymity, did nothing to discourage third parties from requesting the sending of direct marketing to other people, he ran the risk either of misuse, or that recipients would think that no such friend existed and the e-mails were merely spam sent by the website owner."

email

I received an email from 'who-remembers-me' and it said it was from a friend of mine that recommended it. Well, no friend of mine would send me such an email nor are any of my friends named 'D2I60OE4J8C'

This is not the first time i received an email from those people

who remembers me

I have received several emails from whoremembersme.co.uk stating that someone has entered me in their database as a contact.
It seemed like a genuine set-up like friendsreunited, so i joined and paid my fiver.

After scouring the web-site for contacts from different places of work,football teams etc i concluded that i had been duped.

I still get regular emails from them telling me that someone else has nominated me but they say they cannot tell me who it is, even though they put some authentic looking reference code on the email.

Basically it seems a genuine set-up with a dubious means of spam/scamming you into joining up.

I won't be renewing my subscription next year!